Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Will Guest Judge On ‘Drag Race’ Season 12

“I am Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and I pledge allegiance to the drag.”

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez has long been a fan of “RuPaul’s Drag Race.” She has appeared at drag shows, and she’s occasionally taken to social media to show support for her favorite queens, including last year’s Nina West.

Now, Ocasio-Cortez’s dreams are finally coming true. The New York House of Representatives member was among the guest judges announced for Season 12 of “Drag Race,” along with Normani, Robyn, Nicki Minaj, Whoopi Goldberg, and others.

Ocasio-Cortez teased the show’s return in a tweet. “This was absolutely, 100% a peak experience,” she wrote. “I am SO excited for the new season. Thank you @RuPaulsDragRace for having me!” In an accompanying video, she even said: “Join the RuVulution. I am Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, and I pledge allegiance to the drag.”

AOC’s turn on RuPaul’s show comes right in the middle of an intense 2020 election cycle. She represents New York’s 14th district, which includes Queens and the Bronx. The 30-year-old is currently being challenged for her House seat by eight Republicans and four Democrats, including former CNBC anchor Michelle Caruso-Cabrera.

Ocasio-Cortez isn’t the first congresswoman to appear on “Drag Race.” Speaker Nancy Pelosi was a guest judge in 2019 during “RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars,” a special series in which contestants from previous seasons come back for another chance at the crown. Pelosi said she “had a fabulous time” with RuPaul.

This time, Ocasio-Cortez will fit right in with the season’s political theme. The upcoming season will be red, white, and, blue themed. Winners will receive the title of “Drag President,” or “America’s Drag Superstar.”

The recurring judges for Season 12 will remain the same: RuPaul, Michelle Visage, Carson Kressley, and Ross Matthews. Other guest judges include Chaka Khan, Jeff Goldblum, Thandie Newton, Olivia Munn, Winnie Harlow, Rachel Bloom, Daisy Ridley, Daniel Franzese, and Jonathan Bennett.

The new season of “RuPaul’s Drag Race” premieres on February 28 at 8 p.m. EST on VH1.

What Do You Think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *