Danica Roem Will Make History As Virginia’s First Trans State Senator

Roem is the first out transgender person elected to Virginia’s upper chamber.

Democrat Danica Roem has made political history (again!) after winning a seat in the Virginia’s state Senate yesterday. Roem is the first out transgender person elected to Virginia’s upper chamber. Delaware’s Sarah McBride was the first trans person elected to any state Senate in the US, making Roem the second.

Roem, one of GO Magazine’s 100 Women We Love Class of 2018, woman by more than 3 percentage points. She beat out Bill Woolf, a republican and former Fairfax County police officer.

“I’m grateful the people of Virginia’s 30th Senate district elected me to continue representing my lifelong home of western Prince William County and greater Manassas,” Roem wrote on social media yesterday. “The voters have shown they want a leader who will prioritize fixing roads, feeding kids and protecting our land instead of stigmatizing trans kids or taking away your civil rights.”

Roem first made history when she became the first out transgender person elected to a state legislature six years ago.

Annise Parker, the LGBTQ+ Victory Fund President & CEO said of Roem’s win in a press release, “Today, voters across Virginia resoundingly rejected the politics of bigotry and fear directed at the LGBTQ+ community. In Virginia and around the country, tonight’s results show that hate is a losing issue at the ballot box. We’re proud that our LGBTQ+ Victory Fund candidates were key to delivering a pro-equality majority in the General Assembly that will stand up to Glenn Youngkin’s bigoted policies. With so much on the line, Virginia was a top priority for LGBTQ+ Victory Fund this cycle. We’re joining with LGBTQ+ Virginians in all corners of the Commonwealth who are celebrating a new chapter in Virginia politics, one that includes all Virginians.”

Other LGBTQ+ political victories include the election of Joshua Cole in District 65, non-incumbent LGBTQ+ candidates Laura Jane Cohen, Rozia Henson and Adele McClure winning their House of Delegates races, and Senator Adam Ebbin also winning reelection.

What Do You Think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *