Our Year In Review: The Top 100 Lesbian, Bi, and Queer Moments of 2018

A rainbow wave hit the election cycle, India decriminalized homosexuality, and celesbian engagements made our hearts melt. These and more are the moments that kept us going through a very tough 2018!

Sharice Davids after her Congress win in Kansas; couple kissing at NYC Dyke March 2018; Janelle Monáe at the Oscar After Party Photo credits @shariceforcongress Instagram; Jennifer Leonard; Shutterstock

Happy (almost) New Year, babes! While we all prepare our resolutions with the hope that 2019 will bring us much better times than this past year, we thought it important to reflect on all the moments of lesbian, bisexual, and queer representation that brought us joy, changed the course of history, and proved our resilience. To kiss 2018 goodbye and welcome 2019, we want to shine a light on those who rightfully deserve to bask in it: the out women, the badass activists, the fearless politicians, and every LBTQ woman who persisted throughout this tough year.

From the abundance of lesbian films released and the appearance of Lena Waithe on the cover of Vanity Fair, to the decriminalization of homosexuality in India and the explosive Dinah Shore weekend, here’s a list of the top 100 lesbian, bisexual, and queer moments that inspired us in 2018. 

1. Ellen Page gets married — January 3, 2018

Photo by @ellenpage Instagram

Ellen Page marries Emma Portner—in secret, of course. “I can’t believe I get to call this extraordinary woman my wife,” Page captions the image of their wedding bands on Instagram, tagging her new spouse.

2. OkCupid’s gay AF campaign — January 5, 2018

Popular dating service OkCupid launches its witty “DTF” campaign. It starts with an ad featuring two women intimately touching, along with an in-app experience, where users can respond to more than 3,000 questions that could lead them to like-minded people. It also gives users the option to identify with 22 genders and 13 sexual orientations. According to the company, the efforts “are part of a larger movement OkCupid is leading to combat the status quo: a movement to elevate substance over selfies in dating app culture and empower users to really know someone.”   

3. Our lord and savior Ellen DeGeneres turns 60 — January 26, 2018

Though she is ageless and timeless, our leader in lesbian combat turns 60. Ellen DeGeneres celebrates with a two-part birthday episode in which all of her favorite celebrities visit, and her wife, Portia de Rossi, gifts DeGeneres with her own campus of the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund in Rwanda. And, of course, a star-studded mega-party.

4. A lesbian superhero comes to television in “Black Lightning” — January 16, 2018

A lesbian superhero. For some of us, those truly are the “three little words.” TV comic book adaptation “Black Lightning” introduces Thunder, aka Anissa Pierce (played by Nafessa Williams), the eldest daughter of Jefferson, aka Black Lightning himself. She starts out with one gorgeous girlfriend, Chenoa, and when that doesn’t work out, she winds up meeting Grace Choi, local bar owner and gorgeous bookworm. All that, and she’s a part-time teacher making her way through medical school. Truly something for everyone all in one amazing woman.

5. Zoe dating app launches — January 2018

Finally, a dating app for lesbian, queer, and bisexual women. Zoe is a personality, not just an app. Think of her as the lesbian version of Siri or Alexa. Users fill out a “Personality Check,” which asks if you are optimistic or pessimistic, idealist or materialist, on time or always late, plus a number of very specific questions to finding a Sapphic match.

6. Saturn in Capricorn — January 2018

Just as 2018 begins, Saturn enters Capricorn to let us know that this is not a year for fooling around. January feels heavy, and even the sunnier periods of the year have us trying to balance responsibility with play. The first trimester of the year is a little like the beginning of boot camp. 

7. King Princess releases a new EP and a kickass video — February 3, 2018

Singer-songwriter and producer King Princess releases “Make My Bed,” an EP of sweet, intimate pop tunes, featuring “Talia” and “Upper West Side,” (both heartbreak songs to ex-girlfriends). Then she drops a quirky, lo-fi video for “Pussy Is God”—which you should watch right now. Her aesthetic is groovy and empowered, but she keeps her hilarious sense of humor.

8. A Latinx LGBTQ hero emerges from tragedy — February 14, 2018

Sporting a buzz-cut, openly bisexual high school student Emma González becomes a fearless activist after surviving the school shooting in Parkland, Florida. She delivers a speech denouncing gun violence that goes viral, co-founds the gun control advocacy group Never Again MSD, and helps organize the March for Our Lives in Washington, D.C.

9. Brandi Carlile releases a coming-of-age album — February 16, 2018

Brandi Carlile’s new album, “By the Way, I Forgive You,” is a collection of hard-earned wisdom. It kicks off with the title track, a stunning ballad to an ex-lover, and with every subsequent track, the strength and empowerment just keep coming. The chorus on “The Joke” explodes into an orchestral anthem:

Let ’em laugh while they can / Let ’em spin, let ’em scatter in the wind / I have been to the movies, I’ve seen how it ends / And the joke’s on them.

Oh, and the video is magnificent, too.

10. Fourteen out LGBTQ athletes at the 2018 Winter Olympics, a record-breaking number — February 17, 2018

There was a record of 14 publicly out LGBTQ athletes at the 2018 Olympics, which took place in Pyeongchang, South Korea. That means, there were *seven* more out athletes than there were in the last winter Olympics (2014). The U.S. rainbow representatives included Brittany Bowe, Gus Kenworthy, and Adam Rippon.

11. Elsa the Snow Queen might get a girlfriend — February 26, 2018

After fans of the animated blockbuster “Frozen” launch a social media campaign to #GiveElsaAGirlfriend, Jennifer Lee, co-director and writer of the upcoming sequel “Frozen 2,” tells HuffPost that she is totally open to the idea. Meanwhile, right-wing Christian media outlets melt down in horror that a mainstream Disney character could be LGBTQ.

12. “A Fantastic Woman” wins Best Foreign Film at the Oscars — March 4, 2018

Daniela Vega as Marina Vidal in “A Fantastic Woman” Photo by Participant Media

Led by trans actress Daniela Vega, Chilean drama “A Fantastic Woman” focuses on a trans woman dealing with the aftermath of her partner’s death. Lauded for its impactful narrative, the film not only makes history in its home country but also advances transgender representation in cinema.

13. Gigi and Nats grace the cover of GO Magazine in modern AF blazers — March 13, 2018

Not to toot our own horn, but we think power lesbian couple Gigi Gorgeous and Nats Getty on the cover of our very own GO Magazine draped in those super stylish blazers, gazing into the camera with their matching high fashion doe eyes and super serious pouty lips… is, uh, one of the most chic as f*ck fashion moments of 2018. Duh.

14. “@DATINGZOE” launches on GO Magazine — March 15, 2018

Filmed mockumentary style, the web series “@DATINGZOE” tells the story of Zoe (played by Rachel Paulson), a single lesbian who goes on a bunch of bad dates—as documented on YouTube by her best friend Devon (played by Olivia Jampol).

15. “Madam Secretary” character comes out as bisexual — March 18, 2018

In the CBS show “Madam Secretary,” the character Kat Sandoval has an open, in-depth conversation about the way she labels herself. “I’m bisexual,” Kat says, “You can also say pansexual or fluid or non-monosexual, but yeah, I’m queer.” To make things more meta, the character is played by out bi actress Sara Ramirez.

16. “An unqualified lesbian” becomes a political insult — March 20, 2018

Hoping to make history, Cynthia Nixon runs to be the first female and first openly queer governor of New York. But during her inspiring campaign, former NYC Council Speaker Christine Quinn argues that Nixon “wants an unqualified lesbian to be governor.” Nixon supporters quickly adopt the catchphrase as they rally behind her. (Spoiler alert: she didn’t win.)

17. First gender-neutral retail shop opens in NYC — March 22, 2018

Finally, a clothing store free from the shackles of gender! The Phluid Project opens in downtown Manhattan, holding court to heaps of queer designers, and avoiding the mainstream tradition of separating apparel by gender. Because fashion has no gender, babe.

18. Lena Waithe on the cover of Vanity Fair — March 22, 2018

Vanity Fair’s new editor-in-chief Radhika Jones picked actress, producer, screenwriter, and activist powerhouse Lena Waithe as her first cover story for April 2018. This was a huge moment for Black queer visibility. Waithe was her true self on the cover, not made up, in a white t-shirt and gold chain. She was styled by Jessica Diehl and photographed by the iconic Annie Leibovitz. Even more powerful than her image on the cover are her words inside:

“How has the Emmy changed me? It got me all these meetings that I go in and say I’m too busy to work with you—you should have hollered at me. You can take my call when I call you about this Black queer writer over here who’s got a dope pilot, or this person over here who’s got really cool ideas, or this actress who’s really amazing but nobody’s seen her. Because we both know that, even as Hollywood’s doors are being shaken, there is still so much work left to be done.”

19. Trump attempts a transgender ban in the military — March 23, 2018

Since President Donald Trump announced in summer 2017 (via Twitter, naturally) that transgender people would be banned from serving openly in the U.S. military, federal court rulings had blocked full implementation of the policy. So in March, Trump issues an executive order to ban “transgender persons with a history or diagnosis of gender dysphoria.” Constitutional challenges ensue, and Trump repeatedly asks the U.S. Supreme Court for its review.

20. The Dinah: Club Skirts Dinah Shore Weekend — March 28, 2018

The epic lesbian event celebrates its year 28 with an unbelievable lineup of talent, wet and wild parties, and thousands of women from around the world. Celesbians and artists include Madame Gandhi, Jessie Reyez, and Brooke Candy. And, of course, the GO Gals.

21. Hayley Kiyoko pulls no punches with her new album — March 30, 2018

Hayley Kiyoko drops “Expectations,” with track after track of dancey, synth-heavy tunes. Any of the 13 tracks would have been spicy and deliciously rhythmic enough to make this list, but with immediate classics like “Curious” and “What I Need,” this album is a definite favorite.

22. Demi Lovato and Kehlani make out on stage — April 2, 2018

While Demi Lovato is performing in New Jersey, Kehlani joins her on stage, and things take a gay turn. Kehlani puts her arms around Lovato—and naturally, Lovato turns around and kisses her. Then, believe it or not, it continues to get gayer. Kehlani lays down on the bed that is so conveniently on stage, and Lovato straddles her as she performs.

23. Mars conjunct Saturn — April 2, 2018

Every time Mars joins Saturn in a sign, we reprocess what we want to get out of life versus how much energy we actually have. The last time Mars and Saturn joined forces, they met in buoyant Sagittarius where they conspired over bigger and bigger dreams. This year, they meet in Capricorn and negotiate over issues of sustainability. Are your long-term pursuits sustainable based on your personal knowledge about yourself? And how can you make planned adjustments to your daily lifestyle to give yourself motivation?

24. “Rachel Maddow Show” becomes the highest rated cable news show — April 5, 2018

Everyone’s favorite lesbian wonk, Rachel Maddow, finally surpasses Fox News to claim the top spot in cable news. An astonishing 3.058 million tune in to watch Maddow explain the day’s news, beating Sean Hannity on Fox by almost 60,000 viewers.

25. ClexaCon — April 6, 2018

The second year of ClexaCon hosts thousands of LGBTQ women and allies for the largest multi-fandom event of its kind in the city of sin, Las Vegas.

26. Abbi Jacobson comes out as bisexual — April 9, 2018

In an interview with Vanity Fair, “Broad City” co-creator and actress Abbi Jacobson mentions that she goes “both ways” when she is dating, to which we all replied, YAS KWEEN. Now we all must wait in vain for the episode where she and her co-star, played by Ilana Glazer, finally date. Because come on. It HAS to be coming.

27. Chiron in Aries — April 17, 2018

In Pisces, Chiron was a little woo-woo. Yes, herbs and meditation work to heal, but they require an immense amount of time and belief. Chiron in Aries no longer has time for that BS. Chiron in Aries gets to the root of the matter quickly and intensely painfully. Once it understands the problem, it uses satire to heal. It uses self-flagellation and masochism and games to psychologically release the pain. Get ready for more of that, now that the healing comet is in the sign of blood.

28. Janelle Monáe debuts queer album, then her queer self — April 27, 2018

Photo by Shutterstock

Shortly after wearing incredible vagina-shaped pants in the video for “PYNK,” Janelle Monáe comes out as pansexual in an interview with Rolling Stone, and dedicates her album “Dirty Computer” to queer youth. A few months later, she reveals that she and Tessa Thompson, who was featured throughout the “Dirty Computer” emotion picture (aka film), are in love. Cue the rainbow fireworks!

29. Much-anticipated lesbian movie “Disobedience” is released in the U.S. — April 27, 2018

Lesbians everywhere go into a rush of excitement when “Disobedience” finally graces the silver screen. Led by the Rachels (Weisz and McAdams), the film follows a passionate, forbidden romance that takes place in an Orthodox Jewish community in North London.

30. Lena Waithe wears her heart on her sleeve and a rainbow flag on her back — May 7, 2018

We are unworthy of the power and grace that Lena Waithe bestows upon us on the red carpet of this year’s Met Gala, but we are all the better for it. She looks absolutely flawless at every angle. Watching her cape paint those famous stairs with pride as she ascends them brings a queer tear to our eyes.

31. A lesbian love story censored in Kenya debuts at Cannes — May 8-19, 2018

“Rafiki“, a banned Kenyan film about two women falling in love, debuts at the prestigious Cannes Film Festival. Months later, with the ban temporarily lifted, it screens to sold-out crowds in Nairobi and elsewhere. Sadly, the film misses out on a nomination in the Best Foreign Language Film category for the Oscars. But despite the snub, “Rafiki” is still a triumph.

32. Uranus in Taurus — May 15, 2018

Uranus goes into Taurus shortly before retrograding back into Aries. Sometimes, Aries can think that money is the ultimate goal of anything because the end of its own sign is materialistic Taurus. Uranus is the planet of absurdity. When it gives us a sneak peek of what it will be in Taurus, it reveals the ultimately nihilist nature of capitalism. Once Uranus stops retrograding and is fully in Taurus, we will have to deal with layers of absurdity based on what we put our values within.

33. Kristen Stewart announces she’s directing a feature film — May 16, 2018

At this year’s Cannes Film Festival, Kristen Stewart announces that she would be directing and writing “The Chronology of Water,” an adaptation of Lidia Yuknavitch’s 2011 memoir. The celesbian heartthrob promises the film will be “unabashedly open.” The book details the author’s bisexuality, addiction, and self-destruction.

34. Tig Notaro and Jennifer Aniston slated to co-star as presidential wives — May 18, 2018

Jennifer Aniston is cast to play the first LESBIAN PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES and Tig Notaro was cast as her First Lady. The series, called “First Ladies” (get it?), is a political comedy that will premiere on Netflix, written by married duo Notaro and Stephanie Allynne.

35. Negasonic Teenage Warhead has a girlfriend who’s really sweet, actually — May 18, 2018

This moment is seemingly low-key, but that’s what is so awesome about it. When comic book character Negasonic Teenage Warhead introduces her girlfriend to Deadpool in “Deadpool 2,” it’s like, no big deal. It’s a huge win to see queer representation that is also accepted in the context of the story. Kudos, Marvel.

36. Arizona Robbins leaves “Grey’s Anatomy” and a huge hole in our gay hearts — May 24, 2018

Fictional doctor Arizona Robbins, from “Grey’s Anatomy,” is the longest-running lesbian character on TV, which makes her a living legend. Not only that, but her relationship with Callie is the longest-running queer relationship on TV, making her a DOUBLE living legend. And she isn’t killed off the show as most queer characters are, making her a TRIPLE living legend.

37. Kehlani and Hayley Kiyoko premiere iconic music video the day before Pride month — May 31, 2018

Photo by What I Need music video

The day before the queerest month of the year, Kehlani and Hayley Kiyoko gift us with the queerest love story of the century. We watch the kissing scene EASILY 200 times the day it comes out. Two beautiful ladies with beautiful voices in a beautiful video. Is it suddenly getting warm in here?

38. Beloved queer/lez brand Wildfang opens up stores in SoHo and WeHo — May 31, 2018

Manhattan’s SoHo neighborhood just might be some of the most prime fashion real estate on the planet. Which is why we lose our damn fashion minds when our favorite tomboy chic brand Wildfang opens up a brick and mortar store on Lafayette Street. A few months later, they really kill us (in a good way) when they open up a store in WeHo (the gayest/coolest hood in L.A.) too.

39. LGBTQ communities celebrate Pride all over the world — June 2018

On June 24, over a million people flood city streets to celebrate NYC Pride, with many protesting the Trump administration’s anti-LGBTQ policies. Other cities such as San Francisco, Seattle, Mexico City, Santiago, and Tel Aviv also hold Pride celebrations during the month. For a half-dozen cities, this year’s Pride celebration is their first, including that of Georgetown, Guyana, where homosexuality is still against the law.

40. Hayley Kiyoko graces the cover of Nylon — June 1, 2018

Kiyoko is the cover girl for the FIRST. EVER. PRIDE. ISSUE. of Nylon. Yes, it is their first Pride issue, and a lesbian pop star extraordinaire is gracing that cover, giving young gaybies heartthrob inspiration to hang on the back of their teenage room doors.

41. “Dykes, Camera, Action!” makes a splash about lesbians in film — June 1, 2018

“Dykes, Camera, Action!” gives a much-needed exploration of lesbian cinema from the 1970s to now, and celebrates its most influential films with the women who led the genre.

42. Supreme Court narrowly rules for the baker — June 4, 2018

In a narrow ruling, the Supreme Court of the United States finds that the Colorado Civil Rights Commission improperly discriminated against a baker who refused to make a same-sex wedding cake based on his religious beliefs. This ruling sets the stage for further fights at the intersection of free speech, religion, and same-sex marriage.

43. Cœur de Pirate releases a new album — June 2018

Béatrice Martin, aka Cœur de Pirate, releases “en cas de tempête, ce jardin sera fermé,” a storm of an album. This is her first LP since she came out as queer in Vice magazine in 2016. Her vocals are somehow simultaneously fragile and strong, taking us song by song through her personal typhoon.

44. “Nanette” blows us all away — June 19, 2018

Photo by Netflix

Out lesbian comic Hannah Gadsby’s stand-up special “Nanette” is met with mass international acclaim when it premieres on Netflix. The show includes commentary on LGBTQ issues, her experiences as a lesbian, and getting others to understand the struggles our community often faces.

45. LPAC’s signature annual event features Melissa Etheridge — June 20, 2018

Levity and Justice for ALL is an annual event that brings together pro-equality leaders, comedic talent, and rising stars to raise much-needed funds. This year’s event benefits 2018 midterm election candidates who champion women’s rights and LGBTQ equality as well as racial justice. Singer-songwriter and rock superstar Melissa Etheridge graces the stage as a Special Guest Presenter.

46. No air — all year

All year, not just any specific date, we lack slower moving planets in the air signs. This means that we only have air when the Sun or Moon travel into Gemini, Libra, or Aquarius. Without air, we can run into communication issues. It’s harder to get your point across and make yourself understood. There are no slower moving planets approaching the air signs anytime soon, either. This point of American history is being called one of cultural warfare, with the left and right increasingly unable to talk to one another, for a reason. 

47. Janelle Monáe rocks a tulle rainbow gown — June 24, 2018

Officially out and proud Janelle Monáe slays the red carpet as she rocks a rainbow, ruffled tulle gown to the BET awards. If you’re not wearing a couture Nicholas Jebran rainbow outfit during Pride Month, are you like, even queer?

48. Sue Bird and Megan Rapinoe are featured in ESPN’s Body Issue — June 25, 2018

The 2018 cover features a few LGBTQ athletes including lesbian WNBA player Sue Bird, and her partner, soccer star Megan Rapinoe. “It’s pretty amazing to think about [being on the cover of the Body Issue], especially in the times we’re in. Just think of how far we’ve come, but also the current climate. Not only are we female athletes, but we’re dating as well. It’s kind of bad-ass,” Rapinoe tells ESPN.

49. Shea Diamond comes out with an EP to lift us all up — June 29, 2018

Shea Diamond (pronounced She-uh Diamond) releases her debut EP, “Seen It All,” and it’s a powerhouse of empowerment anthems. Diamond wrote the songs in a male prison before making her mark as a trans activist and performer. The EP kicks off with not-your-grandma’s “American Pie”:

Just want my piece of the American pie / Got your slice, where is mine, lick my fingers on this thing called life / Just a piece of the American pie / Break the chains of old beliefs, I’m the flame that you can’t unsee

By the time you make it to the power of “I Am Her,” you’ll definitely be hooked.

50. Tessa Thompson dishes on her relationship with Janelle Monáe — June 29, 2018

In an interview with Porter Edit, Tessa Thompson gets refreshingly raw and honest about her deep feelings toward Janelle Monáe.“It’s tricky, because Janelle and I are just really private people and we’re both trying to navigate how you reconcile wanting to have that privacy and space, and also wanting to use your platform and influence,” Thompson says. She explains that she comes from an open-minded family that has always been accepting of her sexuality. “I can take things for granted because of my family–it’s so free and you can be anything that you want to be. I’m attracted to men and also to women. If I bring a woman home, [or] a man, we don’t even have to have the discussion. That was something I was conscientious of in terms of this declaration around Janelle and myself. I want everyone else to have that freedom and support that I have from my loved ones,” she continues. “But so many people don’t. So do I have a responsibility to talk about that? Do I have a responsibility to say in a public space that this is my person?”

51. Retrograde season — Summer 2018

All summer, it is time to reevaluate and rethink. With five planets retrograding at a time, it could have felt like it was hard to get things going. That’s because it was time for backtracking more than future planning. When so many things are in retrograde, we’re less inclined to do the usual things we do. We may spend more time indoors or go on a trip. Retrograde season is also a time for making hard decisions. Let’s hope you made yours and didn’t out them off. Remember, when the time comes, there’s no little difference between a good decision or bad one, but an immense difference between a decision made and one forgotten.

52. Cher and Meryl Streep kiss on the red carpet (cueing thousands of lez memes) — July 17, 2018

During the “Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again” world premiere at London’s Eventim Apollo, beloved showbiz stars Cher and Meryl Streep share a friendly and intimate kiss. The lesbian internet then explodes.

53. “The Miseducation of Cameron Post” premieres — August 3, 2018

Based on Emily M. Danforth’s novel of the same name, “The Miseducation of Cameron Post” follows a lesbian teen’s experience at a conversion therapy camp, where she finds her chosen gay family along the way.

54. Ruby Rose is cast as Batwoman in the new “Arrowverse” series — August 7, 2018

The Hollywood Reporter announces that Ruby Rose will play lesbian superhero Kate Kane, aka Batwoman, on the CW. After a weird backlash on social media, with critics claiming she isn’t gay enough (what?!), Rose deletes her Twitter account. Luckily, the controversy dies down, and in October, the star Instagrams a sexy Batwoman sneak-peek.

55. Cameron Esposito and Rhea Butcher break up (sigh) — August 8, 2018

Nothing lasts forever, but comedy’s power couple nearly breaks lesbian Twitter when Cameron Esposito and Rhea Butcher announce their separation. Both are private people, but we desperately want to believe their words of love and support for one another are nothing but the truth. 

56. Cara Delevingne and Ashley Benson make out in a London airport — August 14, 2018

The lesbian internet collectively loses its mind when Cara Delevingne and Ashley Benson are spotted lip-locking at London’s Heathrow Airport. This finally (sort of) confirms swirling rumors about the relationship between the famed model and Pretty Little Liars actress.

57. Christine Hallquist makes history as first openly transgender gubernatorial candidate — August 14, 2018

Photo by “Christine For Vermont”

Vermonters select Christine Hallquist as their Democratic nominee for governor, vaulting her into the historic status of first openly transgender nominee for a major political party in a gubernatorial race. Although Hallquist doesn’t win, her historic run shows us that Vermont, and the country as a whole, is ready for more LGBTQ candidates.

58. Amandla Stenberg and King Princess get together — August 20, 2018

Make way for the new young queer power couple. Back in July, “The Hate U Give” actress Amandla Stenberg confirmed her relationship with “1950”musician King Princess. The couple hold hands on the red carpet of August’s MTV VMAs, sporting stunning retro looks. To say we stan is the understatement of 20Gayteen.

59. Lesbian elder wins housing victory — August 28, 2018

Marsha Wetzel, a 70-year-old lesbian, earns a victory for all when she sues her senior living facility for failing to stop the homophobic abuse she suffered as a resident there. In August, a federal court finds that the U.S. Fair Housing Act protects against homophobic discrimination by other tenants, a ruling that will help to ensure safe living conditions for queer people across the country.

60. “Ocean’s 8” and Cate Blanchett as a lesbian fantasy — August 29, 2018

Is the all-female reboot of “Ocean’s 11” actually gay? No, but it comes very close. Three words: Cate. Blanchett. Motorcycle. Any way you look at it, her sexy banter and significant eye contact with Sandra Bullock is clear evidence that their history run much, uh, deeper than criminal heists. Stealing never looked so hot.

61. Brooke Candy releases queer full-length porn — August 30, 2018

Brooke Candy directs a stunning full-length queer porn in collaboration with Pornhub, setting the internet ablaze.

62. The epic dapperQ fashion show queers the hell out of NYFW — September 5, 2018

Photo by Shea Carmen Swan: Sheaography LLC

Just like always, the annual dapperQ fashion show at the Brooklyn Museum is gorgeously queer and innovative, and the attendees are also some of the most stylish queer babes we’ve ever laid our very queer eyes upon. It even scores a write-up in Teen Vogue. Purr.

63. India decriminalizes homosexuality — September 6, 2018

India rejoices in celebration after the Supreme Court unanimously rules to decriminalize homosexual sex. This is a historic move forward in the fight for gay rights, after 160 years of discrimination. Up until this year, gay sex was punishable in India by up to 10 years in prison, due to a law dating back to 1861.

64. Rina Sawayama releases a video for “Cherry” and then we melt — September 6, 2018

Rina Sawayama’s breathtakingly epic music video is a perfect match for “Cherry,” an equally epic lesbian pop song. Sawayama is downright regal, the song grooves so hard, and her lyrics are on point:

Even though I’m satisfied / I lead my life within a lie / Holding onto feelings / I’m not used to feeling / ‘Cause, oh, they make me feel alive

65. “Lizzie” features Kristen Stewart and Chloë Sevigny in love — September 14, 2018

This haunting, biographical thriller is based on the true story of Lizzie Borden, who was tried (and acquitted) for murdering her father and stepmother in 1892. Living under the oppressive control of her father, Lizzie (Chloë Sevigny) feels like a prisoner in her own home. When her family hires Bridget Sullivan (Kristen Stewart), a live-in maid, she and Lizzie form a companionship that quickly evolves into an intimate relationship.

66. Joe Biden speaks at the 22nd Annual HRC National Dinner — September 15, 2018

Former Vice President Joe Biden gives an inspiring speech at the HRC dinner in Washington D.C., telling attendees that “forces of intolerance remain determined to undermine and roll back the progress you have made” and calling on the LGBTQ community to stand firm and continue to work for equality.

67. Historical biopic “Colette” premieres — September 21, 2018

Cementing Keira Knightley’s status as a Sapphic icon, the actress takes on the titular role based on the life of French novelist Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette. The biopic explores Colette’s journey towards gaining autonomy, as well as her bisexuality.

68. Aqua Girl makes a splash in Miami — September 27, 2018

Aqua Girl is an iconic five-day celebration and the largest gay women’s charity event in the country. Each year, thousands of babes from all over the world come together to celebrate their lives—laughing, swimming, sharing, dancing, and playing together. This year marks 19 years of giving back to the community, celebrating equality, and turning up.

69. Lesbian contestant Kaycee Clark wins “Big Brother” — September 28, 2018

Kaycee Clark scores a historic triumph as the first out lesbian to win “Big Brother.” In a 5-4 vote, Clark prevails over runner-up Tyler Crispen to get the $500,000 prize. More than 5 million viewers tune in to watch her win the Season 20 finale of the long-running CBS reality series. Clark, 30, is now the second openly LGBTQ person to be voted the winner of “Big Brother.”

70. Congress nixes license to discriminate against LGBTQ adoptive and foster parents — October 1, 2018

The Senate and House of Representatives removed an amendment to a federal funding bill, proposed in July, that would have allowed religious organizations to deny adoption rights to same-sex couples.

71. Lovehoney releases plus-size lingerie — October 3, 2018

Lovehoney conducts body confidence study, in which women from around the country, ranging in age from 18 to 65 and over, participate in a survey that examines personal body sentiments, the effect of body inclusivity in marketing and social media and the lingerie market. With this new insight, in an effort to increase overall body positivity numbers in the U.S., the sex toy and lingerie company announces the release of two brand-new plus-size exclusive lines, Rendezvous and Belle Amour

72. Venus retrograde in Scorpio — October 5, 2018

Venus doesn’t retrograde often, and when it does, it begins to rise as the morning star. This year’s retrograde in Scorpio is particularly intense, as Scorpio is the sign of Venus’s debilitation. All of our relationships are thrown into question. We receive more power and influence than we know what to do with. A Scorpio Venus knows exactly how it is socially positioned and psychoanalyzes the feelings of embarrassment associated regardless of why. This Venus retrograde has us psychoanalyzing our own social positions and how we feel about them.

73. Brett Kavanaugh is confirmed to as Supreme Court Justice after allegations of sexual assault — October 6, 2018

“It is upsetting to discuss sexual assault and its repercussions, yet I felt guilty and compelled as a citizen about the idea of not saying anything,” said Christine Blasey Ford in a letter she first sent anonymously to Senator Dianne Feinstein about Kavanaugh’s attempted sexual assault while they were in high school. Deborah Ramirez, 53, also came forward to accuse Kavanaugh of sexual misconduct while they were both students at Yale University in the 1980s. Despite these allegations, Kavanaugh was confirmed.

74. Cara Delevigne looks sharp AF at the launch party for her Burberry fragrance — October 11, 2018

Photo by @caradelevingne Instagram

Queer fashion icon and out actress/model Cara Delevigne looks hauntingly dapper as she rocks oil-slick hair and a black suit to the launch party of the new Burberry fragrance, Her. 

75. Rumors emerge that Queen Latifah is engaged and expecting a little prince or princess — October 20, 2018

To this day, it is not yet confirmed or denied that Queen Latifah is about to have a royal family soon, but we are LIVING for the possibility. We may never know for sure; but in our heart of hearts, we know the truth. 

76. Trump tries to redefine transgender people out of existence — October 21, 2018

The New York Times reports that the Trump administration, ever on the anti-LGBTQ warpath, is seeking to eliminate all transgender recognition by defining gender in the narrowest possible terms. (To sum up, identity equals junk between legs at birth, as outlined in a Department of Health and Human Services memo.) So far, this remains Trump’s most extreme effort to violate the civil rights of transgender people.

77. Vibes hits the online dating scene — October 23, 2018

The brand spanking new women-led dating app Vibes utilizes video technology in lieu of messaging with texts. The app’s terms of service establish clear standards of behavior that everyone in the community must follow to ensure that people of all genders have a respectful, authentic, and safe space to meet new people. “We designed Vibes with self-care in mind, and put respect front and center,” says CEO Jenais Zarlin.

78. Matthew Shepard interred at Washington National Cathedral — October 26, 2018

Matthew Shepard, the victim of a brutal 1998 murder and hate crime in Laramie, Wyoming, is interred at the Washington National Cathedral 20 years after his death. Thousands attended the moving service, which is presided over by the Right Reverend Gene Robinson, the first openly gay Episcopal bishop.

79. Texas lesbian couple is the first to carry the same baby — October 30, 2018

Their baby was born in June, but it took a few months for Ashleigh and Bliss Coulter to break the news: They successfully shared their pregnancy using a new technique called Effortless Reciprocal IVF and a device called INVOcell. In this groundbreaking approach, one woman conceives with donor sperm; then the embryo is implanted inside the other’s uterus.

80. Thistle & Spire features lesbian and trans women in lingerie campaign — October 31, 2018

Lingerie brand Thistle & Spire invites 9 women, including lesbian and trans women, to share personal stories of self-acceptance in a new ad campaign. 

81. Hershee Bar in Norfolk, Virginia, is forced to close its doors — October 31, 2018

Hershee Bar in Norfolk, Virginia—one of the East Coast’s oldest and best-loved lesbian bars and dance clubs—is forced to close its doors on Halloween night. Not because of a diminishing regular clientele, but quite the opposite. This hub of the local LGBTQ community closes because the city-owned space the bar occupies is scheduled for demolition. The city’s latest plans are to turn the vacant lot into a dog park.

82. The Rainbow Wave crashes over America in the midterm elections — November 6, 2018

It’s called historic, unprecedented, record-shattering… and all of those terms apply. As Election Day results pour in, an astonishing number (more than 150) of LGBTQ candidates win their races, both for state and federal office. Among those who make history is Sharice Davids, the first LGBTQ person and the first Native American from Kansas elected to the U.S. Congress (see no. 85). It’s a spectacular shellacking of Republicans and a stunning rebuke of Trump. 

83. Dana Nessel kisses her wife before winning the Michigan Attorney General’s race — November 6, 2018

History is made in many ways in 2018’s midterm election, but one of the brightest spots is Dana Nessel winning Michigan Attorney General — the first openly gay politician elected to a statewide office in that state. Before her closest rival concedes, Nessel steps up to the podium to send a very important message: she kisses her wife, Alanna Maguire, for all to see. Now that’s leadership in action!

84. Sharice Davids becomes the first Native American lesbian elected to Congress — November 6, 2018

Photo by Danielle Robinson

Out lesbian candidate Sharice Davids wins a bitter fight to unseat GOP incumbent Kevin Yoder in Kansas’s 3rd congressional district. Davids, a Democrat, wins decisively with more than 53 percent of the vote. Her election victory makes her the first LGBTQ person and the first Native American to represent Kansas in the U.S. Congress.

85. Jupiter in Sagittarius — November 8, 2018

Jupiter goes home! There’s a frightening sense that anything can happen in our judicial system right now. At any moment, RBG can fall and break a rib, or worse. This Supreme Court is the only thing standing in the way of worse immigration policies, abortion rights being taken away, and lobbyists gaining even more power. The judicial branch is the branch of government that ordinary people can best use to make legislation, which is why Brown v. Board of Education and Roe v. Wade exist as laws of the land. In Sagittarius, the anything-can-happen feeling of our judicial branch can be either good or bad.

86. Emily Hampshire and Teddy Geiger are engaged — November 9, 2018

Many happy queer tears are shed when we learn that the cutest, most sarcastic cast member on “Schitt’s Creek” pops the question to her trans pop singer girlfriend in a hotel room. Hampshire and Geiger are #relationshipgoals times 100, with their goofy Insta tributes, glam red carpet looks, and adorable almost-daily tributes to one another. Please invite us to the wedding! 

87. The romantic comedy we’ve been waiting for is released — November 9, 2018

Lez Bomb” is a quirky-yet-heartfelt Thanksgiving comedy with a girl-on-girl twist. Lauren (played by director/screenwriter Jenna Laurenzo) plans to come out to her dysfunctional New Jersey family with her loyal girlfriend Hailey (Caitlin Mehner) in tow. But Lauren’s best-laid plans are quickly thwarted by the arrival of her male roommate Austin (“Search Party”’s Brandon Micheal Hall), who may or may not have a crush on her. There’s a series of misunderstandings that just keep getting wackier.

88. Scotland becomes first country to require LGBTQ education in curriculum — November 9, 2018

This landmark law will ensure all students in public school learn about LGBTQ identity, history, and movements, as well as tackle issues such as homophobia and transphobia. And the most powerful thing is that there will be no opt-outs or exemptions to this teaching. Scottish ministers accepted this decision, which was brought up by the Time for Inclusive Education campaign.

89. Laura Jane Grace and the Devouring Mothers release an album and a reckoning — November 9, 2018

Unapologetic trans punk rocker Laura Jane Grace releases “Bought to Rot,” a milestone album that marks her first solo side project separate from Against Me! It’s full of rock ’n’ roll and raging against the machine, but there are also a bunch of sweet tracks. Our personal favorite of these is the chorus of  ‘The Friendship Song’:

No, I don’t have many friends / I only ever seem to fuck over them / You’re not like the rest of them / You accept me for who I am / And I don’t judge you for it, and that’s what friendship is

90. Fluide releases holiday line — November 13, 2018

Photo by @fluidebeauty Instagram

Fluide, one of our all-time favorite queer makeup lines, releases Chosen Family, a gorgeous line of gift sets with a beautiful message. “With increased threats to LGBTQIA+ rights, it is more important than ever to appreciate the people who have our backs every single day and to honor the bravery it takes to be ourselves,” the company says in a news release. “We dreamed up a non-denominational holiday where everyone comes looking their best to celebrate kinship and the strength in our bonds.” 

91. “The Prom” brings teen lesbians to Broadway (and kisses to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade) — November 15, 2018

“The Prom” opens in early November, and it’s already a smash on the Great White Way. A musical about a gay Indiana teen who fights for the right to take her girlfriend to prom, it earns rave reviews and generates gorgeous fan art. And it doesn’t stop there: on Thanksgiving Day, it makes history by delivering the iconic Macy’s Parade’s first gay kiss.

92. “The Bisexual” premieres on Hulu — November 16, 2018

Created by Desiree Akhavan, six-episode dramedy “The Bisexual” explores a woman’s journey through sexual fluidity. The show deals with the shame and confusion that many bi people experience. The bi community praises it for being authentic and relatable.

93. Mercury retrograde in Sagittarius — November 16, 2018

Right after the Venus retrograde, the Mercury in Sagittarius brings us another difficult decision. Opposite the Full Moon in Gemini on Black Friday, our spending can easily be a little out of sync with our values right now. In Queens, the boycott of Amazon is happening on a wide scale. We are asking our city whether we value working-class New Yorkers or middle-class convenience more. It may be hard to reconcile how we make money with what we value.

94. Jessica Origliasso and Kai Carlton announce their relationship via Instagram — November 16, 2018

Jessica Origliasso of the Veronicas casually announces her new relationship with singer/songwriter Kai Carlton with the highest-fashion Insta pic of the year. Origliasso rocks a virgin white bustier as she clutches champagne (what is more fashion than champagne… nothing!) and kisses a very chic black-t-shirt-clad Carlton on the mouth.

95. Queer migrants arrive at U.S.-Mexico border — November 21, 2018

An LGBTQ sub-group of the 2018 migrant caravan of asylum seekers arrives in Mexico. Traveling together for solidarity and safety, the migrants are seeking refuge from countries where being queer can make you a target for violence and even death.

96. “The Favourite” premieres — November 23, 2018

Rachel Weisz’s second lesbian film of 20GayTeen, “The Favourite” centers on a lesbian love triangle (Olivia Colman and Emma Stone complete the trio) during the reign of Queen Anne in the early 18th century. Receiving major critical acclaim, this historical drama is one to watch out for at the Oscars.

97. The Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree is given to us by lesbians — November 29, 2018

The first tree in NYC’s history to be donated by a queer or Latina couple makes its way to Rockefeller Center. Shirley Figueroa, a retired public servant from the Bronx, tells the New York Times she grew up with “no trees on my block.” Last year, Figueroa and her wife purchased a home in Wallkill, NY, that had a Norway Spruce on the property. That big, beautiful, 72-footer was picked to be THE tree.

98. Saturn approaches Pluto — December 2018

As we end this year, it’s worth noting that these two dismal planets are planning a meetup fairly soon. At the moment, all their frustration is moving through earth Capricorn. We feel that our economic system needs restructuring if not outright revolution. Once we unite, it will be in Aquarius where the power of the people resides. There’s a mass movement happening in our country, whether the left or right can realize it or not. For the first time in a long time, we actually agree on most of the issues, which comes down to how to stop all the money from going into the hands of the 1 percent. We have real work to do together. We’re all getting poorer, and our planet is being destroyed.

99. The Real Catwalk features beauty in all its forms — December 1, 2018

The Victoria’s Secret fashion show is getting backlash for not accepting trans women. Meanwhile, the Real Catwalk, a radical fashion show in Times Square, displays beauty in all forms. It was launched by KhrystyAna Kazakova, a finalist on “America’s Next Top Model” and plus-size activist, and has a mission to spread a “message of self-love and acceptance for everyone to celebrate.”

100. Pro golfer Mel Reid comes out, lesbian internet rejoices — December 11, 2018

Pro golfer Mel Reid, known for her amazing six Ladies European Tour wins and advocacy for gender equality, officially came out when she joined Athlete Ally. Although Reid was always open with her family and close friends about her sexuality, she wasn’t convinced that she needed a public coming out. That changed after a friend encouraged her to speak more publicly about her identity.


We would be remiss not to mention those in our GO community—and those who are meaningful to the larger LGBTQ community—whom we’ve lost this year. We are in the process of putting together a memorial. Please keep an eye out for that in the coming week.


What Do You Think?