5th Annual Women’s Awards Honor Community Luminaries

Yetta Kurland hosted this year’s Women’s Awards at The Stonewall Inn on March 2

A dynamic and diverse crowd representing all facets of the greater feminist community packed the Stonewall Inn on Wednesday for the 5th Annual Women’s Awards.

Hosted by community leader, attorney and GO contributor Yetta Kurland, the 2011 awards benefited Hollaback!, an international movement to end street harassment, and honored a handful of extraordinary women leaving their mark on their communities and the world. Honorees included Eileen Dunn, who has been a staunch champion for the fight for St. Vincent’s Hospital; Natasha Dillon, a fearless leader and organizer of the group Queer Rising; Dr. Barbara Bowen, a role model who has paved the way for women everywhere; Jeanne Wilcke, an inspiration and true leader for downtown Manhattan; N. Jerin Arifa, a rising start in the National Organization for Women; and “subway heroine” Nicola Briggs.

“Women’s contributions to the world are so critical – and yet they often go unrecognized.  This is an opportunity for us to celebrate women’s leadership in New York City and support an organization that is dedicated to gender equality on the streets and beyond,” said Kurland ahead of the ceremony.

Several celebrities (Heather Matarazzo, Alan Cumming and Justin Bond, to name a few)
attended this year’s Women’s Awards and served on the host committee, and sponsors included The Women’s Democratic Club of NYC, the Jim Owles Democratic Club and GO Magazine. Proceeds from the event went to Hollaback!, a movement dedicated to ending gender-based street harassment and violence against LGBT women. For more information, visit www.ihollaback.org

To check out photos from the event, click here.


What Do You Think?